GRAD REFLECTION: Went West, Stayed West

When finally deciding that the path of College Student Affairs was right for me, I knew that I needed to immediately start looking for graduate schools. Many graduate schools appealed to me such as Appalachian State University and the University of Georgia. I knew that I wanted to make some kind of change in my life that would separate me from my undergraduate experience. However, when looking at different schools websites, one school always felt right.  My undergraduate experience was spent at the University of West Georgia but I wasn’t sure if I should stay there to pursue my dreams. However, after looking closely and talking to peers about the College Student Affairs program, I knew that I could not leave. It wasn’t my incredible undergraduate experience that made me want to stay.  It was feeling of excitement and purpose I felt every time I am on campus. The University of West Georgia felt like home to me and I loved that feeling.

After getting the acceptance letter from the University of West Georgia as well as a Graduate Position offer, I immediately felt at ease. I had struggled a bit with wondering if I should skip graduate school and just go on to teach. However, the acceptance letter and the offer validated any concern I had about staying. I knew I was where I needed to be. With staying at my undergraduate institution, I also knew that I could still build up on the connections I had already made.  I had met so many important faculty and staff that had shaped my undergraduate career. By staying and becoming a graduate assistant, I am continuing to work on those connections which are so gratifying. A bit of a concern I had upon entering my assistantship was that I am so close in age to the students I am supervising. It has definitely been a transition. I have quickly had to learn that I am no longer a student. While the undergraduate in me desires for my student dates, I have to step back and think. I am a professional and I need to remember that. I need to display that attitude towards my students. However, I also need to remember that I, too, am like them in a sense. They need to be developed as I was developed.

My first few weeks of my assistantship have already been extremely great. I am learning so much about myself and I am learning so much about my students. It is a very rewarding feeling. Building relationships with them that help shape them is what I am most excited about.  I know there will be struggles along the way. However, I am certain these struggles will help mold me more into the Student Affairs professional that I want to be. I am excited to see where else this journey will take me the next two years. One thing I do know is that I went west and I stayed west. I do not regret this decision. This place will always help me to grow and always help me to remember who I am.

Emily Richardson is a member of the 2015 cohort of the University of West Georgia’s Professional Counseling and College Student Affairs Program. She currently works as a graduate assistant in the EXCEL Center.

Leave a comment